Beauty!

This news has been boiling away in the background for a while (hey, it takes time to put these things together), but now I can finally announce—and with no small degree of elation—that I will be adapting Stephen and Owen King’s bestselling novel, SLEEPING BEAUTIES, to comics.

The news dropped on Deadline.com on Tuesday, and has been circulating the web in various forms since then. You can read the Deadline article by clicking THIS LINK. But here’s the official press release from IDW Publishing:

SAN DIEGO, CA (July 16, 2019) – IDW Publishing is proud to announce the early 2020 launch of Sleeping Beauties, a captivating comic book series based on the bestselling novel by Stephen King and Owen King. Author Rio Youers (The Forgotten Girl) and artist Alison Sampson (Winnebago Graveyard) will adapt the rich narrative of Sleeping Beauties to a ten-issue limited series under the watchful gaze of Stephen and Owen.

“We are so excited about Rio and Alison’s vision for Sleeping Beauties,” says Owen King. “We’ve been fans of Rio’s for years and Alison’s artwork is simply extraordinary. IDW couldn’t have found a better pairing.”

To which co-author Stephen King adds, “We’re looking forward to seeing our work in this exciting format.”

Sleeping Beauties explores a world where women have sunken into a deep, cocooned slumber, their dreams taking them to an idyllic other place. They can only wake if disturbed, which results in violent, feral behavior. Meanwhile, the men have inherited the Earth, their society devolving into barbarism. Provocative and absorbing, Sleeping Beauties is a gripping dark fantasy of gender dynamics, individuality, and toxic masculinity.

“To work on anything with the King name attached is surreal, dizzying, and somewhat terrifying,” says Youers. “As soon as my feet touch terra firma, I will focus on my goal: to stay true to the novel’s spirit, and to deliver a page-turning, visually impacting experience that will appeal to readers of both Stephen and Owen King’s fiction, and to comics fans the world over.”

“I’m thrilled to be able to work on Sleeping Beauties,” says Sampson. “The story is very suggestive for interesting art, with magical themes interwoven through a very real place setting in Appalachia, and the opportunity to draw some truly diverse people. Places, spaces, gender, bodies, character, relationships, political themes, emotions, a challenging (and almost certainly innovative) design job, and a great story – it’s all here. I cannot wait to share what we are making.”

“There was something magical about the combination of Stephen King’s and Owen King’s specific skills on the pages of the Sleeping Beauties novel, an alchemy that resulted in a story so of the moment and yet so timeless,” says IDW President & Publisher, Chris Ryall. “Rio and Alison are fashioning a graphic retelling that synthesizes that same sense of wonder while very much making the comic its own thing entirely. We’re ecstatic to be doing this with all involved.”

For information on how to secure copies of Sleeping Beauties, please contact your local comic shop or visit www.comicshoplocator.com to find a store near you.

 

It’s great to be back on board the IDW train. They published a couple of my short pieces back in the day (“Quoth the Rock Star” and “For King and Country”), and I even wrote a twelve-page comic for them, which appeared in the ZOMBIES VS ROBOTS ANNUAL (2012). They always put out such great stuff, and I’m just thrilled to team up with them again.

And I’m equally thrilled to collaborate with Alison Sampson, an incredible artist who did such stunning work with Steve Niles on WINNEBAGO GRAVEYARD. I know Alison will make this comic something very special indeed.

My thanks to Stephen and Owen King for trusting me with their wonderful novel. I know it’s a book they’re both exceptionally proud of, so to be associated with it in any form is just amazing. Thanks, also (and in abundance) to Chris Ryall at IDW, who put all the pieces together. He’s a fantastic guy and a wonderful creator in his own right, and I look forward to working on this project with him, and with the entire crew at IDW.

SLEEPING BEAUTIES will be a ten-issue comic, and will launch early 2020. I will update this site—you’d better believe it—as and when news comes in.

Posted in Comics | Leave a comment

Out in the UK

The paperback of my critically acclaimed novel, THE FORGOTTEN GIRL, is now available in the UK from Titan Books.

This action-packed, psychological thriller earned starred reviews at Publishers Weekly and Booklist, and was a finalist for the 2018 Arthur Ellis Award for Best Crime Novel. New York Times bestseller Joe Hill said, “An absolute rocket—The Forgotten Girl is a supernatural thriller that thunders along at Mach 5 from the first page to the last. Written with a brutal lyricism, a savage wit, and a killer instinct for suspense, it’s a work that marks out Rio Youers as a big star.”

THE FORGOTTEN GIRL is available now wherever books are sold, but I’ll drop the Amazon link RIGHT HERE for ease. And hey, if you read it, and enjoy it, feel free to drop a review. That’s a good way to make an author happy.

More soon.

 

Posted in Novels | Leave a comment

Wonderland

A new short story of mine, “Vanished Summer Glory” will appear in Wonderland, an anthology of works inspired by Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Edited by Marie O’Regan and Paul Kane, it will be published by Titan Books on September 17th, 2019.

And the cover … I mean, whoa. It’s just beautiful. Simply excellent work by Julia Lloyd (who also designed the covers for the paperback editions of The Forgotten Girl and Halcyon. Isn’t she amazing?).

Here’s the official description from the publisher:

Join Alice as she is thrown into the whirlwind of Wonderland, in an anthology that bends the traditional notions of Lewis Carroll’s classic novel. Contributors include the bestselling M.R. Carey, Genevieve Cogman, Catriona Ward, Rio Youers and L.L. McKinney.

Within these pages you’ll find myriad approaches to Alice, from horror to historical. There’s even a Wild West tale from Angela Slatter, poetry, and a story by Laura Mauro which presents us with a Japanese folklore-inspired Wonderland.

Alison Littlewood, Cavan Scott and Catriona Ward make the more outlandish elements their own, while James Lovegrove instead draws on the supernatural. Cat Rambo takes us to a part of Wonderland we haven’t seen before and Lilith Saintcrow gives the legend a science-fiction spin. The nightmarish reaches of the imagination are the breeding ground for M.R. Carey’s visions, while Robert Shearman, George Mann, Rio Youers and Mark Chadbourn’s tales have a deep-seated emotional core which will shock, surprise and tug on the heart-strings.

So, it’s time now to go down the rabbit hole, or through the looking-glass or… But no, wait. By picking up this book and starting to read it you’re already there, can’t you see?

I’m delighted to be involved with this, and to accompany so many incredible authors. I have a feeling this anthology is going to be quite special. You won’t want to miss it.

Roll on September!

More Wonderland news as it comes in.

Posted in Anthologies | Leave a comment

The Forgotten Girl UK

A reminder for all my friends and readers in the UK … Titan Books will release my novel, The Forgotten Girl, in paperback on May 14th.

Check out the full cover, front and back. It’s a thing of rare beauty, I tells ya!

In case you didn’t know, or just plum forgot, The Forgotten Girl earned rave reviews when it was released in North America in 2017. Publishers Weekly (starred review) said, “… a paranormal thriller distinguished by subtle characterizations and emotionally evocative prose … Harvey’s compelling, moving search for Sally and the truth offers everything that fans of intelligent suspense could wish for.” And Booklist (starred review) enthused, “This is a smart thriller that also explores the power of love and memory. Highly recommended.”

And yet more praise:

An absolute rocket—The Forgotten Girl is a supernatural thriller that thunders along at Mach 5 from the first page to the last. Written with a brutal lyricism, a savage wit, and a killer instinct for suspense, it’s a work that marks out Rio Youers as a big star. —Joe Hill, New York Times bestselling author of The Fireman and Heart-Shaped Box

A page-turner of a novel with concepts that twist your mind, characters that tug at your heartstrings, and a narrative that leaves you breathless. The Forgotten Girl is a supernatural thriller that will ensure you never forget Rio Youers. —Sarah Pinborough, New York Times bestselling author of Behind Her Eyes

Rio Youers writes with a magic all his own. The Forgotten Girl is a unique and twisted thriller, loaded with suspense but also laced with beautiful heartbreak. Youers is a rare and original voice, and I can’t wait to see what he does next! —Christopher Golden, New York Times bestselling author of Snowblind and Dead Ringers

The Forgotten Girl has everything going for it. Rio Youers has seasoned an original plot with engaging, unpredictable characters, and a totally badass villain, concocting a heady thrill-fest that will keep you turning pages into the wee hours. —F. Paul Wilson, New York Times bestselling author of the Repairman Jack series

Sometimes it’s the story that thrills us. Sometimes it’s the writer. Whether we know it or not, we always want both. The Forgotten Girl gives us both … halfway through … you think, “I’d be glued to absolutely anything Youers is spinning.” —Josh Malerman, New York Times bestselling author of Bird Box and Black Mad Wheel

Oh, yeah … and it was also a finalist for the 2018 Arthur Ellis Award for Best Crime Novel.

The Forgotten Girl is available for pre-order right now. CLICK HERE for the Amazon UK link.

More exciting stuff soon. Stay tuned!

Posted in Novels | Leave a comment